Israel plans to sign non-aggression pacts with Persian Gulf countries

UNITED STATES, WASHINGTON (OBSERVATORY) — Israeli Foreign Minister Yisrael Katz said he is working to sign non-aggression pacts with the Arab countries of the Persian Gulf, which do not recognize the Jewish state.

Non-aggression pacts that Israel plans to sign with the Persian Gulf countries would improve the situation in the Middle East after decades of hostilities, Israeli Foreign Minister Yisrael Katz announced on Sunday (October 7th).

“In recent times, I am promoting, with the support of the United States, a political initiative to sign non-aggression agreements with Arab countries in the Persian Gulf. This historic gesture will end the conflict and encourage civil cooperation until the signing of peace treaties, “Katz said on Twitter.

The minister noted that he had already discussed this project with his colleagues from the Arab countries and presented the initiative to US Special Envoy to the Middle East, Jason Greenblatt, on the sidelines of the 74th session of the the United Nations General Assembly in New York last September.

The Israeli media have already mentioned Saturday, October 5 the possibility of signing such agreements. According to the television channel Arutz 12, the idea of ​​the project is to “take advantage of common interests concerning Iran to normalize relations in the fight against terrorism and in the economy”.

In New York, Minister Katz and Saudi Foreign Minister Adel bin Ahmed al-Joubeir had criticized Tehran for accusing him of terrorism and calling on the international community to come together to put pressure on the Iranian authorities . Iran has repeatedly rejected all charges.

– Israel and its diplomatic relations –

Israel has diplomatic relations with 163 states including two neighboring countries, Egypt and Jordan, while 31 members of the UN do not recognize the Jewish state. These include Algeria, Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. According to Israeli law, Israeli citizens can not go to Iran, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq, Saudi Arabia and Yemen on pain of criminal sanction.

After the signing of the Oslo Accords in the mid-1990s on the settlement of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the Arab countries of the Persian Gulf have shown interest in establishing bilateral relations with the Jewish state for the first time since the proclamation of its independence by Israel in 1948. Following a series of reciprocal visits, the Israelis have opened several diplomatic missions, including Oman and Qatar.


This article is written and prepared by our foreign editors writing for OBSERVATORY NEWS from different countries around the world – material edited and published by OBSERVATORY staff in our newsroom.

Our Standards, Terms of Use: Standard Terms And Conditions.

OBSERVATORY NEWS — Breaking news source, real-time coverage of the world’s events, life, politics, business, finance, economy, markets, war and conflict zones.

Contact us: [email protected]

Stay connected with News Observatory and Observatory Newsroom, also with our online services and never lost the breaking news stories happening around the world.

Support The OBSERVATORY from as little as $1 – it only takes a minute. Thank you.

We are NEWS OBSERVATORY — the only funding and support we get from people – we are categorically not funded by any political party, any government somewhere or from any grouping that supports certain interests – the only support that makes OBSERVATORY possible came from you.