Russia again fell under US sanctions

RUSSIA (OBSERVATORY NEWS) — 13 organizations and individuals from China, Russia, Iraq and Turkey fell under new US sanctions.

They are being brought into line with US non-proliferation law in Iran, North Korea and Syria.

Five Chinese and Turkish companies and individuals punished by sanctions by Washington on charges of “supporting Iran’s missile program.”

One Chinese citizen accused of trading in dual-use products used for Pakistan’s weapons program.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced the sanctions. True, he did not specify which Russian companies or individuals were on the sanctions list.

The American Non-Proliferation Act provides for a ban on the transfer of technologies to Iran, North Korea and Syria that could contribute to the creation of nuclear, chemical, bacteriological weapons, as well as weapons of mass destruction weapons.

Previously, three Russian and six Chinese companies, as well as one company from Iraq and Turkey, were included on the same grounds in the sanctions list.

These sanctions entered into force on February 3, 2020 and will be valid for two years. There is one thing but: the US Secretary of State can lift sanctions altogether or shorten their duration.


This article is written and prepared by our foreign editors writing for OBSERVATORY NEWS from different countries around the world – material edited and published by OBSERVATORY staff in our newsroom.

Our Standards, Terms of Use: Standard Terms And Conditions.

Contact us: [email protected]

Stay connected with Observatory and Observatory Newsroom, also with our online services and never lost the breaking news stories happening around the world.