Trump extended for a year sanctions against Russia

UNITED STATES (OBSERVATORY NEWS) — US President Donald Trump has extended for a year the duration of a series of sanctions previously imposed on Russia in connection with the situation in Ukraine. This was reported in a White House official notice circulated on Tuesday.

“The actions and policies referred to in these decrees continue to pose an extraordinary and extreme threat to the interests of national security and the foreign policy of the United States,” the president’s explanatory note says. “Therefore, I extend the [sanctioned] state of emergency for one year declared by decree 13660.”

As follows from the published documents, we are talking about extending the term of restrictive measures against Russia applied by the current administration on September 20, 2018 and the administration of the 44th US President Barack Obama on March 6, March 16, March 20, December 19, 2014 in the Crimea. According to Trump, he came to the conclusion that all these sanctions “should remain in force after March 6, 2020.”

The United States began to impose sanctions on Russia in connection with the events in Ukraine and the reunification of Crimea with Russia in March 2014.

A number of Russian banks and companies, large entrepreneurs, as well as high-ranking officials of the Russian Federation and the government of the former president of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych, the leadership of the proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk people’s republics fell under their influence, and “export of American goods, technologies and services to Crimea” was banned.

American investment on the peninsula was also outlawed. Sanctions have repeatedly expanded and extended.

On March 11, 2014, the Supreme Council of Crimea and the Sevastopol City Council against the backdrop of the political crisis and the change of power in Ukraine adopted a declaration of independence of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol.

On March 16, with a turnout of more than 80%, a referendum was held on the peninsula, according to the results of which 96.77% of voters of the Republic of Crimea and 95.6% of Sevastopol voted for reunification with Russia.

On March 18, an agreement was signed on the adoption of new entities in the Russian Federation. Ukraine, the United States and the European Union refused to recognize the independence of Crimea and its reunification with Russia.


This article is written and prepared by our foreign editors writing for OBSERVATORY NEWS from different countries around the world – material edited and published by OBSERVATORY staff in our newsroom.

Our Standards, Terms of Use: Standard Terms And Conditions.

Contact us: [email protected]

Stay connected with Observatory and Observatory Newsroom, also with our online services and never lost the breaking news stories happening around the world.